A Bookshelf Tour: June 2017

Well, hello lovely readers! Look at this? Back to back posts! Ya girl is back on her blogging grind!

And with that, I wanted to do something that I always see on the ‘Booktube’, or YouTube book blogging community online, and that is to do a bookshelf tour! Usually in those videos, bloggers go through their books one by one to show their viewers their collection. And honestly, that may not sound massively interesting, but I like watching them! Sometimes I even play them in the background as I’m getting ready to go somewhere and snap to attention when I hear a title that catches my interest. But since you can’t turn this post into background noise, I want to share with you not only what’s on my bookshelf, but also why it’s there– because each book was purchased and ended up on my bookshelf for a very specific reason!

So without further ado, here I go!

bookshelf tour

Books that I had to read in high school that I ended up loving:

Books that I had to read in high school that weren’t bad but I certainly did not end up liking:

Books that I got after I graduated high school because they related to my general interests of politics, law, journalism, and media (not that  actually finished reading any of them):

Books by celebrities that made me fall in love with said celebrity:

Books by celebrities that I could care less about:

Books that I re-read a million times over the course of my high school career because I was doing my International Baccalaureate Extended Essay (which can be read here, it’s probably not very good) on the effect of Bengali culture on the plot development and literary features of these books:

Books I bought so that I could read it and then woo the author during office hours because they were my professor:

Books about writing and narrative that I got because Reza Aslan told me to:

Books I got from a friend, Aska, to remember her by because she said the title described her to a tee (and it does):

Books that I bought because Barnes and Noble had a buy-2-get-one-free deal, and I was hooked on the book Aska got me:

Books that I had to get for my first ever creative writing class titled, “Cool and Contemporary Fiction”:

Books that I had to get for aforementioned first creative writing class but I don’t think deserves to be in the first category because although it was contemporary fiction, I didn’t think it was all that cool or good:

Books that I got for my various political science classes at UCR, rated from my most favorite to didn’t even read it:

Books I got for my favorite political science upper-division class I’ve ever taken at UCR, Labor and Globalization, where we learned about the effects of globalization on companies, workers, and labor movements (I even do research with this professor now on this topic!):

Books I got when Hillary Clinton announced her bid to run for president in 2016:

Books I got when I started to notice problematic details about Clinton’s political career and pivoted to a new political idol:

Books I got when we were in the final presidential debate of 2016 and I just wanted everything to go back to the way it was before this mess started:

Books I got months after the election to reflect on what could’ve been:

Books I got when I needed political hope from a non-politician:

Books I got for my first upper-division writing class that I loved but we didn’t even end up reading them after the first 3 weeks (#typical):

Books that I got for my Politics of India and Pakistan class that I thought I was going to ace (because I care so much about this history/politics of that region already!) but I got a B (which I was probably doomed to as soon as I got a shocking 80% on the midterm):

Books that I got when I was the sole tutor for an ENGL1PA class and they just gave me the texts so that I could keep up with the class (but in my mind, I simply remember them as the books I got for free, shoutout to my job):

Books that are a little dark, which isn’t usually really my taste, but I was curious and really ended up enjoying them:

Books that I got because one of my creative writing classes said that if we went to Writer’s Week, a UCR event where different writers come and talk about their work, we would get extra credit– and so I went to this particular author’s presentation and feel in love with her story:

Books about feminism from when I was just getting into understanding it and just wanted to learn from some texts rather than just what people said on the internet:

Books I got because my friend, Shabri, convinced me to go all the way to Pomona with her to see Rupi Kaur in person, and seeing her live and hearing her speak was so cathartic at the time that I bought the book as a souvenir:

Books that are total beach-reads that I don’t remember when I got it but I liked it:

Books that are total beach-reads that I don’t remember when I got it but I don’t like it (take this book from me for free for all I care):

Books that I got as a gift from my friend, Praptee, when I graduated high school and honestly, maybe this book could be my bible, my holy grail, the answer to all my problems!! but I just haven’t read it yet:

  • Blink by Malcolm Gladwell

Books that I added to my collection just this week because I traded-in some old textbooks to Amazon and got $50 back immediately to buy whatever I wanted to from my #SHIGGYSUMMERREADING list:

And that’s everything that’s on my shelf! Let me know if you’ve read any of these, or how you’ve come across your favorite books and like always, thanks for stopping by!

Love,

Shiggy (2)

17 thoughts on “A Bookshelf Tour: June 2017

    1. Haha, thank you! We actually read some pretty unique books because I was a part of the IB diploma program. The book was truly amazing– we only had to read Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood while I was in school but I liked it so much I bought The Complete Persepolis after I graduated! Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I wish you could tell me how to pronounce your name appropriately because it looks beautiful written. As a fellow book lover, I enjoyed this. I may need to check a few of these out. Some I have heard of but many were titles completely new to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved 1984 because I was a fan of George Orwell and I really loved the Great Gatsby as well. To add to the school or reading list, I also enjoyed Tess of d’ubervilles- Thomas Hardy and Ruth by Elizabeth Gaskell x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow you have quite a range of books there! I don’t think I have copies of any of them, but I have always wanted to read The Great Gatsby. I’m a sucker for new books too (although my sister in law gave me a few hundred about a year ago and I’m still wading through them…)

    Like

  4. I am a bookworm myself and I love the fact that you have kept all those books! I had to get rid of a lot of my books when I moved to a different state, couldn’t bring all of them with me. I was only able to keep the ones I liked the most. Love your books collection, I will have to come back and read this list again, some of them sound very interesting. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  5. So funny but the only book you haven’t read – Blink by Malcolm Gladwell – is the only book that I have read on your list! Blink is wonderful. I’m sure you will love it when you get round to reading it.

    Like

  6. Hi! I love this! Reading is my passion (but then again I am at university studying English). I too had to read The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald and Lord of the Flies by William Golding at school but unlike you I really didn’t enjoy them! instead I loved Hamlet by Shakespeare! I also blog about literature – plays, books and theatre performances! if you’re interested my blog URL is brahamjade.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

