The Best of Bollywood (as of June 2017)

Music (n): vocal or instrumental sounds (or both) combined in such a way as to produce beauty of form, harmony, and expression of emotion.

This article runs the risk of sounding like a Buzzfeed article, but I’ll take the chance if it means I can talk about my favorite (mostly sad and sentimental) Bollywood songs! Here’s a shortlist of the songs that I can’t stop putting on repeat as of recently.

Enna Sona from Ok Jaanu

I have literally have zero clue what this movie is about, but context is unnecessary for a Bollywood song to mess with your sentimental side. This song makes me miss the great love of my life that I’ve never even had– but really that’s all A.R. Rahman’s voices’ doing.

Sanam Re (Title Song) from Sanam Re

Also no clue what’s going on here, but I can definitely imagine this playing at my wedding as I make a grand entrance to my stage. If you know me, you’d know that’s me singing some high praises.

Tere Khair Mangdi from Baar Baar Dekho

Another sad song, I apologize– but it’s not really sincere considering I’m blessing you with some quality music. This song reminds me of the movie Click with Adam Sandler when his old self is running around stressed about how he’s in the future and has completely fucked up his life. Someone who’s actually watched this movie please let me know if I’m close.

Kar Gayi Chull from Kapoor and Sons

Here you go, there’s finally a happy song! This one makes me want to throw a house party right! now! Great vibes, great casting, what more can I say.

Jiya Jale from Dil Se

This song is most certainly not recent (I believe it came out in 1998), but I am as a huge of a fan of Lata Mangeshkar’s voice from back then as I am of Shreya Ghoshal’s today. This is a really quality piece of music, and I love hearing in randomly sampled in new music!

Nagada Sang Dhol from Ram-Leela

This song makes me feel fired! up! I can take on the world after listening to this song! Energy exudes from ever second of this, and Garba is mesmerizing to watch.

Literally Every Single Song from Bajirao Mastani

The cinematography. The choreography. The costumes. I’m not exaggerating when I say that basically every single song in this movie can qualify as one of the best songs I’ve ever seen.



and finally, similarly to how I feel about Bajirano Mastani, there’s another favorite movie of mine which stands out with consistently quality songs aka

Every Single Song from Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

I can’t speak too much on this movie without getting sentimental all over again, so watch and enjoy (or more likely, cry, idk).



And I feel like I’m forgetting something so if I remember at some point, check back at this post for more quality Bollywood content you need to be listening to! And if you have any particular favorites, be sure to mention them to me in the comments.

Anyway, once again, thanks for stopping by!

Love,

Shiggy (2)

Leave a Reply

